12 before the end of 12

I started this blog just about a year ago.  It has been incredibly rewarding and helpful. I can’t believe I didn’t start blogging earlier! I have been touched and impressed with many of the posts that I have seen in the last few days and weeks (see Adam Simpson’s 12 for 12 for a good start) in which incredible teachers/bloggers looked back on the year. I wanted to get in on the action but didn’t quite feel like I had the time or mental space to go through and select specific posts (of mine or of others).  I have read so many amazing posts it seemed like an impossible task. I had a hard time thinking of what criteria I could use. Then it hit me. Comments. Ahh, comments. I love to receive them. I know other bloggers do as well. I am always kicking myself about not being better about commenting on other blogs (possible New Year’s resolution foreshadowing) or being better about responding to comments on my blog in a more timely manner. I will leave the excuses and rationales out of it but this is something I think about quite often.

So, my “12 for 12” is the 12 posts that I have been wanting to comment on but haven’t quite managed to yet. My mission is to leave a comment on all the posts mentioned below in the next 24 hours. It is shaping up to be a super #TESOLgeeky New Year’s Eve.

1. My own post on ER 

To my horror and embarrassment,  I recently realized that I never responded to the (great and helpful) comments on this post, a post in which I was asking for help about extensive reading. I will have to remedy this soon.

2. Kevin Stein shares a lovely story and some gratitude 

Obviously, I am cheating a bit here with this post because Kevin posted this very recently. Kevin’s blog (as well as the human and tweeter attached to it) has been a constant source of inspiration throughout the year so I will be sure to leave a comment on this post. Some touching comments have already been left.

If you like my use of passive voice there (or even if you don’t) you will probably enjoy Kevin’s recent post on passive voice examples. 

3. Alex Walsh on current teacher training methods  

I think about this blog post a lot. Actually I think about the whole blog a lot. Alex manages to write thought-provoking things regularly. I have been lucky enough to meet Alex face-to-face many times this year and have gotten the chance to talk about his blog. He is not afraid to remind me that I never comment on his blog. I will be sure to comment on the above post soon and hopefully more in the new year.

If I have extra time I will comment on this post about the perils of student feedback.

4. The prolific Chris Wilson on “Eating our own dogfood” 

Chris wrote so many posts this year that were extremely thought-provoking. I was surprised to see that what I call “the dogfood post” was not listed in his review of year (but realize that Chris was spoiled for choice). Lots to think about in this post, its sequel, and the entire blog.

5. Tony Gurr on the stupidity of SMART objectives

Just as I was debating which of Uncle Tony’s posts or series  to add a comment on he delivered this gem at the last moment. Prior to that moment I was thinking about one of his many many posts but I think the universe was telling me that this is the post that I *should respond to.

6.  ELT Resourceful by Rachael Roberts 

I couldn’t choose just one. I think I will just have to leave a comment on the About Page  telling Rachael how much I appreciate her blog and how much I have learned from it and her over the last year.

7. Chia Suan Chong and Hugh Dellar discuss intercultural communication 

This was a fascinating exchange that really got me thinking. I am not sure if I came up with any concrete resolutions but I know that is not really the point. This round of Devil’s Advocate sure provided a lot to ponder.

While we are here I should also mention that both the blogs from Hugh Dellar and Chia Suan Chong  are very interesting, thought-provoking and well worth reading.

8. Phil Wade’s new rules for teaching 

In this post, Phil Wade provided a bunch of ideas and rules about teaching. As I read this I nodded in agreement and also came up with some questions. I have been thinking about his ideas on this for months now and will be happy to revisit this.

Update: I couldn’t find the post I was looking for so I just commented on Phil’s 100th post. There is a lot to read on his blog so I would encourage anyone interested in ELT to check it out. Phil seems to have retired this particular blog but he has a lot of good stuff out there so a google search might be helpful.

9.  Anne Hendler wonders about “fun” in class 

In this fun post,  while not necessarily out-curmudgeoning me, Anne considers the importance of teachers having fun in class as well as if teachers are allowed to have fun in class. I have no idea what I will respond to this but I am hopeful that something will come to me because it is a very interesting post!

10. John Pfordresher asks for help 

In this short but powerful post, John P describes some challenges that he faced in motivating his students to speak. Specifically he asks, “How can we motivate our students TO WANT TO expand out of their comfort zone?” I wanted to respond at the time but as we know sometimes life gets in the way. It might be too late to actually help John in that situation but I will remove the guilt of not being more helpful that I have been carrying around for months.

11. “TEFLING at 35: a life gone right”  by Laura Phelps  

What a post! Wow. Now that I am 35 (I wasn’t in April) perhaps I can comment on this more thoughtfully than I could have way back when this post came out. I won’t even summarize this post. Just read it! I think it is a very important post for all of us involved in the field.

12. Storybooks by English Teachers  (Josette LeBlanc’s participants) 

In this post we can see Korean English teachers show off their creativity and it is a sight to behold. This is really nice to see and a possible source of inspiration for teacher trainers around Korea and around the world. Thanks to Josette for sharing this wonderful model.  And for mentioning the Bookmaking project. And for  all the support throughout the year. And for  the initial nudge to get into blogging!

Thank You

Thanks to everyone for reading the blog and I look forward to more learning in 2013. This was a great year and I am feeling especially grateful at the moment and also excited about the next year.

(I am also excited about all the comments I will be leaving in the next 23 hours!)

Special shout out to the lovely Yitzha イーツァ Sarwono  for the laughs and support today, tonight, and throughout the year.

11 comments

    • mikecorea

      I am so happy to see that this post was helpful for you Rose. I’d recommend all the posts I mentioned and the rest of the blogs too. Of course that is a lot to read! It has been great for me to become acquanted with your blog and I am looking forward to reading more!

      • Rose Bard

        Definitely worth reading! I have the whole month to do that. 😀 I’m just balancing between what I have to check review from 2012 to give a fresh start in 2013 and the readings that help me doing so. Tks so much for being interested in my writings as well.

  1. Pingback: 12 from ’12: The best of your posts from this year (blog challenge) | Teach them English
  2. kevchanwow

    Well it’s New Year’s Eve and I can’t stop thinking about your post and your public commitment to leaving a comment on all of your 12 for ’12 selections. What a fantastic idea. It has me running all over the internets seeing how you’re progressing (and thank you very much for the comment on my post).

    I’m very happy to find my post mentioned, but even more happy to have files on my computer filled with articles you nudged my way, a group of friends and fellow teachers who are all connected to you in one way or another, and a year full of laugh out loud nonsense moments. It really was a very special year. And when I say special, I mean crazy, busy and flat out fun.

    Thanks For everything. Your mic works just fine and I hope you keep a good chunk of the stage during 2013.

    Kevin

    • mikecorea

      Hello again Kevchan,

      What a year!
      The image of you flying around the internets to see if I had completed my comments was well worth the effort. It was a fun mission and I am happy that it was a chance to share some posts that have gotten me thinking.

      It was a fantastic year and I cannot imagine it being so crazy or fantastic or silly or thought provoking or without your presence.

      I am now done blogging for 2012. Please stay tuned for more in 2013.

      Thanks again, brother.

  3. Pingback: 12 before the end of 12 « ELT Rants, Reviews, and Reflections | All things ELT | Scoop.it
  4. Pingback: Blogs I am looking forward to in 2013 « ELT Rants, Reviews, and Reflections
  5. Pingback: Out with the old… | ELT Rants, Reviews, and Reflections

Leave a Reply

