Social media for trainer professional development

I just did a webinar. Zero prizes will be awarded if you guess the topic, however. The webinar was part of the SIT Trainer Webinar Series and I thoroughly enjoyed the session. It was great to talk to people around the world about this topic. I mostly just tried to share my enthusiasm for social media, especially for teacher trainers in their professional development. I talked about my experiences with and my reasons for using social media. I also recommended some people, places and groups that might be useful for teacher trainers. The list of recommendations can be found here. As always with such lists it is a bit awkweird because I surely forgot someone and might have placed things in strange categories and such.  Anyway, I thought it might of use or interest to a few people that did not attend the webinar so I am sharing it here. The webinar recording itself will not be shared widely but if you’d like to see my PowerPoint, here it is: Social media for trainer professional development. As you can see I am a firm believer in simplicity and PPTs not giving away too much of what is said in the talk. Please let me know if you have any questions or suggestions for the list.

biebs

If you really want to know why this picture is here you will need to go ahead and click on the PowerPoint. He’s Canadian, by the way.

6 comments

  1. Zhenya

    Really wanted to attend (but it was a lesson planning session on our intensive teacher training course here in Beirut) – will definitely catch up by watching the recording (and sharing with my co-trainers here!) 🙂

  2. Sophia

    Well done, webinario! And thank you for mentioning me and #AusELT. It has been quite an experience meeting you and other amazing educators via Twitter and Facebook over the past few years and seeing these incredible PLNs spring up. Thanks for sharing your materials and experiences here.

  3. ven_vve

    Thanks for the facebook group ideas! I don’t think I’m in any of these yet. I really like ‘awkweird’, btw – almost didn’t catch that! 🙂

Leave a Reply

