help with co-teaching

I would usually (if anything) put this sort of thing in the “Workshop materials” section of my blog (right there in the middle of the menu bar) but this time I figured I’d share it here. This main reason for this decision is my assumption more people would read it as a blog post instead of a page. Since I am doing this workshop tomorrow, I thought it would be fun to see if anyone had any advice or other problems to add. I will be sure to check for comments all day Sunday November 9th, 2014.  

I am not sure how much explanation is needed for these materials. Ha. I am not even sure exactly how (or even if!) I will use them but I imagine there is something about passing them around the room and changing roles as advice giver and advice receiver.  

 

advice

 

1) Dear co-teaching experts,

I need your help. I really want to change up my co-teaching approaches and try something different but I am not sure how to talk to my co-teacher about this. I think she might be pretty stuck into doing things the same way every time. I think I’d just like to experiment a little bit and try some new strategies. What shall I do? Thanks in advance for your help.

Bored in Boringdong


2) Dear co-teaching experts,

Hi! I am experiencing a problem with my co-teacher and I just don’t know what to do. Sometimes, well actually it is quite often, when I ask a question in class my co-teacher answers it! I guess he thinks he is trying to help but it is not really helpful at all for me because things I expected to take 10 minutes end up taking 3 minutes and then I am suddenly stuck for materials and activities. Of course the timing is a problem but the other problem is that students are somewhat robbed of the experience of trying to answer my questions. I am trying to elicit answer and activate schemas and all the things I am supposed to do as a good teacher. I don’t feel comfortable to confront him about this because I think it might hurt his feelings or cause a loss of face. What can I do? Any advice is appreciated!

Scared in Sueseong


3) Hello co-teaching experts,

I didn’t know where else to turn. I am writing to you about a problem I am having with my co-taught classes. My co-teacher and I get along very well and we have a great relationship. There is just one problem. My co-teacher often corrects me and gives me unsolicited feedback in the middle of class. It is so embarrassing! I am not sure I can take another day of this and I am afraid I might snap and cause our good relationship to fall apart. Any advice is requested.

Frustrated in Daegu


4) Co-Teaching Experts,

Please help me. I have a very small problem and I thought you could offer some advice. My problem is that I’d really like to try one of the 6 fantastic models of co-teaching I learned in an amazing workshop recently but I really cannot decide the right one for the right situation? What criteria should I use? What types of lessons are these models appropriate for? How do I know which model will be best for me? Which one is the best? How will I know? Please share some ideas with me and help me set some criteria for these decisions.

Cheers,
Enthusiastic in Seo-district


5) Dear co-teaching experts,

I have a sensitive issue and I need some help. I feel that my co-teacher does not treat me with respect. I feel like he is the main teacher and I am just a helper. I’d like to have a bigger role and do more to help the students but he seems happy enough to do 95% of the work. I don’t know how to approach him or what strategies to use to start the conversation but I’d really love to see a change here and to make a more balanced and hopefully productive classroom teaching situation. Please advise.


6) Hi experts on co-teaching,

I have a problem and need your help devising a strategy. You see, I am supposed to work as a co-teacher but I simply don’t have time to plan things properly. Ideally, I’d like to do team teaching with my co-teacher but I know this requires a lot of time upfront. What are some ways to make the maximum effect with a minimum of planning time? Also, do you have any advice on how to let my co-teacher know how busy I am without making it seem like I am avoiding him? I’d like to be a better co-teacher but I just don’t have time. Is there anything I can do in this situation?

Busy in Bokgu


7) Dear co-teaching experts,

I have a question. I am supposed to do co-teaching but I just don’t see the point in it all. It seems like a lot of extra effort without much payoff. I thought since you are the co-teaching experts you could fill me in on the benefits of this. What are the benefits? I am specifically interested in hearing the benefits for the students but I’d also like to hear the benefits for me as a teacher. If possible if you could tell me the benefits for me in terms of professional development as a teacher that would be great too. I hope you can help me see the advantages of co-teaching because right now I cannot see them at all.

Skeptical in Seoul


8) Hello co-teaching experts,

Everything I read about co-teaching says that one of the most important things I need to do is develop rapport with my co-teacher. I know what this word means but I honesty have no idea about how to go about doing this. Do you have any suggestions for me? My co-teacher is a Korean teacher of English and I’d really like to know if there are any ways that are generally good. I, of course, realize that everyone is different but I’d just like some tips to get me started. I’d like to develop a good relationship but I don’t think I know where to start. Please tell me your best hints.

Thank you,
Seeking jeong in Jung-Gu


9) Dear co-teaching experts,

I keep seeing and hearing this word “rapport” in everything I read about co-teaching. I know what this word means but I honesty have no idea about how to go about doing this. Do you have any suggestions for me? My co-teacher is a foreigner. A native speaker from _____. I’d really like to know if there are any ways that are generally good to develop rapport with native speakers. I, of course, realize that everyone is different and we are all our own individuals but I’d just like some tips to get me started. I’d like to develop a good relationship but I don’t think I know where to start. Please tell me your best hints.

Thank you,
Looking for Rapport


10) Dear co-teaching experts,

How are you? Things with me are generally great. I love my job. The only problem is that I don’t really know how to work well with a co-teacher. She is a nice person and is a hard worker and she seems to be trying to be a good teacher. The problem is that I don’t know when to intervene and help. Sometimes I think I cause a problem by not helping when he seems to want or need it. Other times I help when he looks to need it but he gets upset with this. I am just trying to help him and the students. I think the problem is that I am very much accustomed to doing everything for the students so I always do the same thing even if there is another teacher in the room. I can’t figure out the right moments to help and the right moments to relax. I am not sure exactly what my question is, co-teaching experts. Please let me know what you think about this situation and what I can do and what I can do with my co-teacher to solve this problem.

Intervening in Ilsan


11) Dear co-teaching experts,

I heard in a recent workshop that “One Teach, One Observe” is a good way to co-teach. This sounds interesting to me and I can imagine it being valuable. The problem is that I don’t know what to look for in the observations, and I don’t know what to ask my co-teacher to observe when I am teaching. Do you have any suggestions for this to get us started? I am really at a loss. Books or any tips at all will be received gratefully.

 

4 comments

  1. alexcase

    My first rather pedantic reaction would be that you’ve missed a good chance to give a model of good actual emails, with proper opening lines, closing lines, etc… If you get an email from them afterwards saying “Dear my teacher, Please check my attachment. Kind Regards JoonYoung” afterwards, you only have yourself to blame!

  2. Sandy Millin

    I think the problem with number 10 could be something to do with them having gender shifts in the middle of the lesson 😉
    Apart from that, I really like this approach to workshops, and I’m almost definitely going to steal it at some point, possibly even before the end of the CELTA I’m tutoring on at the moment.
    Hope the workshop went well!
    Sandy

Leave a Reply

