Reports on IT in Korea from my students

In yesterday’s post I shared some responses from my students to questions about edtech from the folks over at eltjam. Today I’d like to share reports from another group of students on the IT industry in Korea. This group is 2nd year students in a 2 year advanced interpretation and translation graduate program. The “reports” were written in about 10-15 minutes before class around ten weeks ago.  The speeches my students were going to interpret that day were all about the IT industry in Korea so I had the  brilliant idea to see how they’d be able to share ideas and background about IT in Korea to someone who doesn’t know much about either Korea or IT.  I thought it might be interesting to have students write a quick note to my mom (who, shhhhh, is not all that interested in IT in Korea). They asked if she had ever been to Korea. I said yes, 10 years ago (though it was actually more like 13 years ago) and then I answered some other background questions. Some of these students were involved in my convince my mom Korea is not dangerous campaign last year.  The students’ mission was to write a short note/letter to my mom, telling her whatever they think she might need or want to know about IT and the IT industry in Korea. The benefits and challenges of the industry for Korea was highlighted as potential avenues. I asked students to put a big X on their paper if they didn’t want me to share their answers digitally on my blog or elsewhere with my mom. The responses below are from students who were fine with me sharing their answers widely. I typed them up just as they were written (and only changed the names).  I feel compelled to state that these were written in a hurry without much prep or thinking time. and there was not much time for editing or proofreading. I’d also like to mention my students are not really experts in IT but just needed enough background to interpret the speeches. I was pleased with the responses and I hope you, and my mom, will be too. I feel there are a lot of interesting things here, linguistically and culturally that are worth thinking about.  I also thought these letters could be good models for teachers (esp in Korea) because I think the messages are clearly conveyed but there are still a few minor errors and slips. I am very thankful my students allowed me to reproduce the letters here so I thank them for doing so whilst thanking you for reading.


 

Dear Mrs. Griffin,

Hello, how are you?
My name is B and I’ve just received a mission from your son MICHAEL to give you some idea about the IT industry in Korea. I’ve heard that you’ve been here ten years ago but things are really different from then. Especially the IT industry grew significantly.

I think the reason behind this great change & development in the IT industry is that we do not have enough natural resources to be competitive in global arena and that’s why we’ve chosen IT as our key driving engine for economic growth. It’s dramatically changed the way we live from as simple thing as subway ticketing to complicated technology like fingerprint recognition system.

However, as IT brought huge benefit to us, it also brought some negative impact to our lives too. The most serious problem would be related to security issue such as cyber-espionage, internet fraud and disclosure of personal information. To combat these issues, Korea is actively and preemptively taking many measures for better IT future. I hope, therefore, we can benefit from the advancement of the IT industry without having to worry.

Thank you very much and I hope to talk to you again.

Kind regards,
B


 

Dear Mrs. Griffin

Hi, Mrs. Griffin. I am S from Korea. I’m writing this mail to tell you about IT in Korea. Sounds interesting, doesn’t it?

Things have changed a lot in Korea over the past 10 years. I guess if you visit Korea, you will be surprised at how Korea has changed so dramatically in such a short time. First of all, people do not read newspapers anymore. They instead read news on their smartphones. Right, smartphones have become an essential part of our life. You don’t need to go to the bank, you don’t need to pay for international calls. You don’t even go to the mall for shopping. All you need is your smart device and some applications that you can download for free. Life is a lot more convenient and easier than ever before.

Unfortunately, there are some security and privacy concerns over the use of mobile services. Actually we are seeing more and security and privacy-related incidents.  But it will be addressed soon. Let’s keep our fingers crossed.

From S.
Best Regards.


Dear Mrs. Griffin.

Hello, I am N, one of Mike’s student. I am writing this letter to tell you about IT in Korea. I heard that you visited Korea 10 years ago. I can’t really remember what kind of technology was available since I was in Australia back then. However, I will tell you about IT in Korea from what I know.

IT sector played an important role for this country’s development. Korea is now one of the leading IT powerhouse in the world. We have wireless network nearly everywhere including subways, public library and banks. This made people in Korea to access the internet anywhere anytime.


 

Dear Mrs. Griffin,

I am Y, one of your son’s students at Chungang Graduate School. How are thing going?

I have been told that you have much curiosity about the IT industry in Korae. I decided I might help you understand the IT industry’s influence on Korean society.

I head you had visited Korea 10 years ago and I believe Korea has changed a lot since then, mainly due to the fast development of the IT industry.

Almost all Koreans, except for some older people, use smartphones and internet. Korea has one of the fastest and internet and broadband in the world. Thanks to them, people’s lives have become a lot easier. For instance, Koreans now just check the time when buses arrive so they don’t have to wait for a long time for a bus. Koreans also pay their bills and do banking on their phones, which saves them the trouble of actually going to the bank. There are a lot more benefits and changes the IT industry has brought about. Please feel free to write me in case you wanna know more. Bye for now. Take care.

Sincerely,
Y

One comment

  1. Pingback: Why don’t Korean students use apps for learning English? | ELT Rants, Reviews, and Reflections

Leave a Reply

